Posts

Chosen Champion by Elise Kova Review

Image
Before we start, I would like to thank author Elise Kova for providing a review copy of the box set! So, we left off Vortex Visions with Vi agreeing to leave her homeland and head to Meru to meet Taavin, and Chosen Champion starts off soon after that, as she’s waiting for the royal parade to take her home only so she can slip away partway through the journey and find her way to the Crescent Continent. Let me tell you, book two keeps up Kova’s exciting pacing, jumping right in with Vi practicing her Lightspinning magic with Taavin. Then it’s right to visiting a prisoner, then political intrigue, and long before the end of chapter one you’re already invested. This book also feels very relevant as I write this, as the world is being ravaged by an epidemic known as the White Plague. Vi is isolated, kept in the fortress for her own good, then when she sees the city it almost looks deserted as everyone keeps to their homes for fear of catching the plague. This book was, of course, written lo
Image
Thank you so much, Saga Hillbom, for sharing this ARC with me so I could review it! Earlier this year, Hillbom shared her previous book City of Bronze, City of Silver , with me and I absolutely loved it. It was a historical fiction about a woman from Sparta and a man from Athens, falling in love despite all odds. Princess of Thorns is another historical fiction, taking place in 1400s, England. It follows the life of real historical figure Cecily of York, one of many women in England’s history who’s frequently forgotten. This isn’t an exciting book, but that doesn’t keep it from being fascinating and heartbreaking. Cecily spends most of the book torn between loyalties, as her mother and her uncle stand on different sides, and being thrown around the country by adults looking out for nothing but their own agenda. Cecily’s growth is staggering. In her first PoV chapter, she pouts over getting a casket covered in rubies rather than diamonds, but that spoiled princess doesn’t last for long

A Deal with the Elf King: Review

Image
  Photo Credit: Elise Kova A Deal with the Elf King by Elise Kova is a fantasy romance perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses . A young woman named Luella lives in Capton, a village right at the edge of the veil that separates the human world from the elf world, Midscape. For centuries, the elf king has come to the human world to find a bride: The Human Queen, the only human to be born with magic. It comes as no surprise that Luella is the Human Queen this time around, thus beginning our Beauty and the Beast-esque romance as she’s married to the elf king, Eldas, and whisked away to another world. Luella is characterized quickly. She’s a healer by trade, having spent years studying so she could help her village by treating the ill and injured. When she’s taken away from Capton, one of her first concerns is who will care for them, marking her as a selfless, hard-working person. Unfortunately, this sort of made her the most boring character for me. Now, Kova is amazing at writin

The Omen of Stones by Casey L Bond: Review

Image
The Omen of Stones is the indirect sequel to When Wishes Bleed by Casey L. Bond, by which I mean the characters from When Wishes Bleed play small roles, and one of the two main characters, River, is the son of the Sable, the MC from the first book. You don’t need to read When Wishes Bleed to understand The Omen of Stones , but I recommend that you do! We return to the same world, where magic and technology coexist and witches are feared, yet constantly needed for their magic.  This book opens with a frantic scene: a young witch giving birth to her triplets, named Omen, Lyric, and Sky. At the same time, River, the next Fate Witch, is born in the castle of Nautilus, the spiral-shaped kingdom where this book takes place. Questions are raised immediately when we find, years later, Omen was found alone by the river. Thus the mystery begins. What happened to Lyric and Sky, and the girls’ mother? A series of twists and turns that will lead you to gasping revelations is set in motion when R

The Bone Carver by Monique Snyman: Review

Image
Welcome to my tour stop for THE BONE CARVER  by Monique Snyman! Right before the book's release tomorrow, welcome to the blog tour stop at my little corner of the internet! I would like to extend so much thanks to Monique Snyman and the Good Choice Reading team for choosing me for this occasion! Before I jump into the info, I would like to inform you that I received an eARC of The Bone Carver for free in exchange for my review! Synopsis For a small New England town, Shadow Grove has an uncanny ability to attract the worst kind of trouble. Not that the residents are too concerned about the various horrors living among them. As the leaves change color and the weather grows colder, a foul presence is making itself known by leaving peculiar gifts for the students of Ridge Crest High. At first, the presents seem harmless—and a rash of accidents seem coincidental—but when seniors Rachel Cleary and her Scottish cousin, Dougal Mackay, find a boneless body in the boiler room, things take an

Casey L Bond's Next Title Reveal

Image
It's an exciting day! Today, on October 9th, 2020, Casey L Bond has given a bunch of us the opportunity to share the title for her next book! I genuinely love her books and I'm slowly collecting them (it's my goal to get signed versions of all of them!), so I am beyond excited to get to do this! Are you ready? You sure? Let's go! WITH SHIELD AND INK AND BONE , coming out this November! Her cover reveal is coming October 16, the trailer is coming out on the 30th, and the release blitz is from November 13 to November 15th! I can't wait to see any of them! Not much has been revealed yet, but what I do know is that this is a historical fantasy about a biking witch (!!!!) and I'm thinking that the inclusion of this temporary tattoo means tattoos will play a part! As someone who'd love to get tatted up six ways to Sunday, tattoos in books always excite me. To find out more about her books and sign up for her newsletter, you can find her site  here ! Amazon links t

Ora and the Old God by Sarah Day Review

Image
Synopsis: A spellbinding story that weaves together powerful women, complex magic, and political intrigue. Wild and stubborn, Ora Widogast is determined to join her brother for the annual Tabas hunt. When he makes a terrible mistake, her brother is turned into a pig, and she is taken captive in the fae realm. There, the fae queen places her under the watchful eye of a cruel and powerful mage, Tyg Marigen, who despises humans. As a world of politics and old conflicts unfolds around Ora, she plans her escape, but then, she makes a dangerous discovery--she can use magic. Something no human has done before. To avoid Tyg's wrath and save her brother, she must find a way home before her secret is revealed. But, she has no idea how to control her newfound power. Review: Thank you so much, Sarah Day and Netgalley, for providing a free copy of Ora and the Old God in return for an honest review! Ora and the Old God is a Spirited Away -esque story about a girl whose brother is turned into a